Things I Love, May 2018

About this series: A symptom of being a student of both critical development theory AND yoga is that I’ve become painfully aware of the importance of making conscious choices at the checkout, since we are ‘voting’ with our dollars, after all! Total abandonment of consumerism simply isn’t practical, so this monthly blog series highlights a few things – maybe ethical purchases or healthy noshes – that I’ve discovered each month, and why I love them!

icon2

Was May long for anyone else? And I’m not just talking about the long weekend. Phew, I’m still tired from this marathon month! Here are a few things that kept me going and made me smile this month.

Sooo Many White Guys Podcast
phoebe
OK so my super woke friend recommended this podcast to me over a year ago, and I’m so glad I finally started listening to it! The host, Phoebe Robinson, is so sassy, so funny, and so real. She interviews a wide range of guests, mostly female and people of colour, along with the occasional token white guy! They’re the perfect length to accompany me on my walk to work, and I always have a bit more pep in my step and reassurance about the world afterwards.

Posture Checks
posture
My month was punctuated with a torn rotator cuff, so I dragged myself to physio and got this rude awakening: my posture sucks. That’s right, even a yoga teacher who “knows better” still struggles to achieve perfect posture. I need to work on pulling my shoulders back and creating width across my chest. But that might not be what you need to work on, so do a self posture check or get yourself to a chiropractor, physiotherapist, or massage therapist for an outside eye!

Rotating Tap for Charity
craft
Some friends and I hit up Craft Beer Market on a Saturday afternoon. With over 100 beers on tap, we were swimming in options. But the clear winner was their rotating tap, with $1 from each pint going to a local charity, the Dixon Hall Music School. One pint always makes me feel warm and fuzzy, but this charity pint goes the extra mile. This pub is also leaps and bounds ahead of the restaurant industry in terms of their sustainability – from uniforms made with less water, to being powered by Bullfrog. Kudos!

Notorious RBG
IMG_20180610_1817210
I’ll admit, I knew very little about Ruth Bader Ginsburg until seeing the incredible documentary about this now-85-year-old powerhouse. I’m not American, but I still feel indebted to her for helping to shape the landscape for women in North America. She is affectionately known as Notorious RBG, thanks to a group of millennial ladies who were seeking an alternative kind of icon. So I had to get a t-shirt, obvi. Go see the documentary, you won’t regret it.

What have you fallen in love with this month? Share your thoughts with me on my Contact page!

Leave a comment