Food for Thought, October 2018

About this series: Inspired by opinion pieces, news articles, famous quotes, or books I’m reading, this monthly blog series contains my musings on ways we can live mindfully, authentically, and generously. You might hear some of the same themes woven into the opening and closing meditations in my classes!

icon2

I took a ballet class recently, after being away from the barre for a couple of years. I had been craving moving in turn-out, spinning across the studio floor, and reaching into an arabesque. But as life moves so fast, it can be hard to fit everything in, even the things that we love, the things we grew up with, the things that remind us of who we are.

So what did I get out of this 90-minute ballet class, other than an ass-kicking workout, of course? I got to feel all the things. Not just the physical challenge of using those tiny stabilizer muscles that I haven’t used in a very long time, and the mental challenge of keeping up with the sequences; but also a sense of familiarity, of finding something that I had been missing, and of being exactly where I was supposed to be.

We all have hobbies we love like this, or places that feel like home, or people that remind us of who we are. Time flies when we’re having fun, but time also flies when we’re too busy to notice life passing us by. How can we make space in our lives for the lost hobbies, places, and people that help define our being? How can we revisit the parts of ourselves that sometimes get buried? I don’t have all of the answers but I think its safe to say that we have to start by listening, deeply, to what our hearts tell us that we want.

Blog 9

What hobby, place, or person is critical to your identity but sometimes gets forgotten? Share with me on the LMents Yoga Facebook page!

Leave a comment